Aside

How To: Eeyore Tutorial

21 Oct

So this is my first tutorial.  I hope to do a bunch of these.

I used a 50/50 blend of gumpaste and fondant to make Eeyore.

1. Make a cone shaped lump for the body out of dark blue.  Create a curved spine along the back of the cone (see pic).
Image

2,  Create a light blue flat oval and add it onto the body.

Image

3. Push together a piece of dark blue fondant with a smaller piece of light blue.  Form into a leg.  Use a veining tool to create the creases in the legs.
Image

4. Repeat for other hind and front legs.

ImageImage

5. At this point I left Eeyore to harden for a couple days.

6. To make his head I made two ovals, one of dark and one light.  I cut 1/3 off of both ovals and then glued the 2/3 portion of the dark to the 1/3 portion of the light.  Like this.

Image

7.  Attach the head to the body with a toothpick and gumpaste glue.  Take a piece of dark blue and blend it along the back of Eeyore’s neck to bring the two pieces together.  To make the gumpaste a bit more pliable I put it in the microwave briefly.  I could not get a perfect blend but I think it looks better then two separate pieces.

Image

8.  Add all the details.  I used a toothpick to add some lines and nostrils to Eeyore’s face.  I rolled out a spade shape of dark blue and added a smaller pink layer for each ear.  I used a petal and a circle cutter for his eyes and small strips for eyebrows.

Image

9.  Don’t forget his tail – a stripe of dark blue fondant with a pink bow, black tip and the nail.  I forgot to take a picture of this…

10.  Here he is on the cake.

Image

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a comment